The escape from Korea

For some, writing rage/rant blogs works to preserve their sanity. Having some keys to mash on helps them deal with the pains of _____. Doing so is cathartic. For me, I’ve found that raging just means I have to love through the pain once more. It’s not cathartic, it’s torturous.

But I suppose this needs telling…

I wrote “The Chattering Vortex of Apathy” a year ago and posted it 9 months ago. Things got worse…just after I made that post, in fact. A Bible-thumping main coteacher made a powerplay and forced me to transfer schools, so I moved and got thrown in with three coteachers who were just out of college. Two were okay, but the other one only communicated via Post-Its with me. Our desks were next to each other and she was my main coteacher. Frustration ensued. Most of what I said about classes “not being interesting” came true.

 left in February. Mid-contract. Couldn’t bear the mental strain anymore. Lady Buckeye and I had split up in October (amicably) and that combined with the idiocy of Korean schools had me thinking my time was finished in the country. Just getting through the day was difficult enough. I was wrecked.

10 thoughts on “The escape from Korea

    1. errantbuckeye Post author

      Hi again! Nice to see that you’re still around yourself. I traveled for a while and then came back to the U.S. to regroup. I’ve some professional development programs starting this summer. It will last a year or two. I’ll find some part-time work and go from there.

      Reply
      1. errantbuckeye Post author

        Thanks!

        I went to Japan, Spain and the UK, mostly alone, but there were some days I spent with friends as well.
        Stories? Well? Dates come a bit easier when you’re a traveling man.

      2. errantbuckeye Post author

        My apologies for the extremely late reply.

        I know what you mean; I was there, too: Feeling “stuck” because of being at college and not having much money. Does your university give you a bus pass? Mine did. I used that card for all it was worth. The city had been a place I grew up in the shadow of, but I hadn’t actually been there until college. I picked up a map of all the bus routes and rode around the city. Call it “Neighborhood’s 101.” That was an education. Soon all of those “bad areas” were right there outside the window. And yes, some were bad, but the sense I got was that most everyone was just trying to get by. A few bad apples, etc.

        Maybe this can help you.

      3. Claude Martel

        Interesting. Was this in Korea? As part of being in Mexico at the moment, I plan on visiting the best and worst neighbourhoods in the city with a few locals in tow. I’m not trying to get kidnapped, just a little perspective.

      4. errantbuckeye Post author

        No, this was in America. A certain Rust Belt city in the Midwest.
        Mexico, eh? Never been there. I know what you mean about worrying. From reading your blog, I’ve the impression that you walk tall and project confidence. That goes a long way.

      5. Claude Martel

        Yeah I’m tempted to agree. I have my wits about me all the time and pay extra close attention when we’re in certain areas. Just yesterday we were in the city centre along one of the more touristy avenues and some guy was doing an extremely poor job at subtly following us. I mumbled to my colleagues to watch their stuff, noticing how he stopped whenever we did. I finally looked right at him, in the eyes, for a dozen or so seconds, just to make sure he knew I was onto him. He vanished after that.

Leave a Reply

