A man needs a plan

A man needs a plan.

Repeat that five, ten, or however many times it takes to get it engrained in your brain. Then go outside, take five deep breaths, come back inside, and repeat “a man needs a plan” ten more times.

A man needs what?

A plan.

A plan, dang it.

Too many guys just expect stuff to happen. It doesn’t work like that. A successful date, evening, weekend, week, month, life requires a plan

Here’s why:

Haha! I think a lot of guys think that, but personallyI find it kind of annoying. Especially in the era of the text message. Dudes be all:

“You wanna hang out sometime?”

Me: Ok…

(a week later)

“So we should hang out.”

Me: Ok… … …. when? What does hanging out entail?

“Do you want to maybe go to dinner?’

Me: Sure.

“Where do you want to go?”

I mean, I don’t know. Did you not have any plan here? Have you ever been to a restaurant you like? How about you take me there so I can find out something about your tastes and interests? If I just want to go to a restaurant that I like I can do that on my own anytime.

But I guess that’s because I actually care about getting to know a guy and not just having him pay for my dinner.

Linked from this comment on Gawker

Let me repeat what she said: “Have you ever been to a restaurant you like? How about you take me there so I can find out something about your tastes and interests? If I just want to go to a restaurant that I like I can do that on my own.”

It’s not a difficult concept. Having a plan, or at least a semblance of one, will take you far in life. One thing I can’t help but love about Koreans is they always have a plan for what to eat come meal time. A co-teacher or whoever will say, “Let’s go get mandu for lunch” or “How about eating noodles? I know a place.” And away we’ll go.

On a more personal note when Lady Buckeye first came to my country town, we went to a restaurant I’d been to with a co-teacher in the past. The place was known for grilled samgyeopsal and tofu, and since it was so good, the place merited a return trip.

I can’t remember if she asked me where we were going or if I told her, but either way, I made the plan to go there. You can do the same. Like I’ve mentioned before, a man can ill afford indecision at any time of the day.

A man needs a plan.

Go forth and kick ass.

* “Engrained in the brain” is something a colleague likes to say. I like the rhyme in it.

Leave a Reply

